Page 9 - AASM Membership Sections Newsletter Issue 1

Basic HTML Version

AASM Membership Sections Newsletter Issue #1
Circadian Rhythms Section
JamesWyatt, PhD
R. Robert Auger, MD
Katherine M. Sharkey, MD, PhD
Mark Smith, PhD, RPSGT
Thank you for reading about the activities of the AASM’s
Circadian Rhythms Section!
Steering Committee
James Wyatt, PhD (Chair)
is finish-
ing his 3rd and final year as the Chair
of the Circadian Rhythms Section. He
is the Director of the Sleep Disor-
ders Service and Research Center
at Rush University Medical Center
in Chicago. His research interests
include the circadian and homeostatic
modulation of sleep and wakefulness,
delayed sleep phase disorder, and
other areas of sleep medicine (e.g., the
diagnosis and treatment of insom-
nia). He received training in sleep
research and sleep medicine from
Drs. Mary Carskadon, Mark Rose-
kind, Richard Bootzin, Stuart Quan,
Charles Czeisler, Derk-Jan Dijk,
and David White.
R. Robert Auger, MD (Vice-Chair)
finishing his third year as Vice-Chair
of the Circadian Rhythms Section. He
is an Assistant Professor of Medicine
and Psychiatry within the Mayo
Clinic College of Medicine, and is also
a consultant within the Mayo Center
for Sleep Medicine and the Depart-
ment of Psychiatry and Psychology
(Rochester, Minnesota). He received
his Doctor of Medicine from the
University of Minnesota in Minne-
apolis in 1999. This was followed by
a medical internship and psychiatry
residency at Johns Hopkins Hospital
in Baltimore, Maryland (completed in
2003), and a Sleep Medicine Fellow-
ship at the Mayo Clinic, completed in
2004. Dr. Auger joined the Mayo staff
subsequently, and spends essentially
all of his clinical time within the Mayo
Center for Sleep Medicine. Dr. Auger’s
research interests focus upon clinical
sleep medicine generally, with a more
specific interest in delayed sleep phase
of the Section
In the past 2.5 years, our accom-
plishments have included hosting
the first actigraphy clinical work-
shop and presenting a full-day
course on circadian rhythms at
APSS. The latter will be presented
again at SLEEP 2012. We have
proposed the creation of a scor-
ing and interpretation manual
for the use of wrist actigraphy in
sleep medicine, and the AASM
Board of Directors approved the
update of the actigraphy practice
parameters. Our steering com-
mittee also created a new format
for the APSS section meetings
adopted by many of the other
sections, to include a mini year-
in-review with invited speakers
presenting their research. Dr.
Wyatt also presented at face-to-
face meetings of the AASM’s Fu-
ture of Sleep Medicine task force
Preliminary Agenda: Circadian Rhythms SLEEP
2012 Section Meeting
John B. Hynes Veterans Memorial Convention Center
Tuesday, June 12, 2012 from 5:15 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.
Call to Order – James Wyatt MD,
Outgoing Chair
5:15 p.m
General Business
5:15-5:20 p.m.
• Introduction of New Section Chair
• Introduction of 2011-2012 Circadian Rhythms Steering
• Call for Volunteers: 2012-2013 Steering Committee
• Review of Section Activities
• ICSD-3
Section Investigator Award
5:20-5:35 p.m.
• Ron C. Anafi MD, PhD – University of Pennsylvania
Assessing Circadian Phase in Human Subjects Using
Limited Peripheral Blood Measurements
Data Blitz
5:35-6:05 p.m.
Open Forum
6:05-6:15 p.m.
6:15 p.m.
Membership Sections Reception
6:15-7:15 p.m.