Page 13 - AASM Membership Sections Newsletter Issue 1

Basic HTML Version

AASM Membership Sections Newsletter Issue #1
Narcolepsy Section
Narcolepsy Section
General Info
The Narcolepsy Section Steering
Committee currently includes
Eve Rogers (Chair), Stephen
LoVerme (Vice-Chair), and Lou
Tartaglia. Our steering committee
has been working together for the
last three years, primarily focus-
ing on developing the content of
our section meeting at the an-
nual SLEEP conference. Through
this development, we have been
successful in furthering our
goals to increase section member
attendance and involvement of
section members. In more re-
cent months, we have turned to
discussions regarding potential
section activities outside of the
annual meeting. Our first initia-
tive, along with the other AASM
sections, is to increase our visibil-
ity within the entire AASM mem-
bership and to solicit input from
Preliminary Agenda: Narcolepsy SLEEP 2012
Section Meeting
John B. Hynes Veterans Memorial Convention Center
Tuesday, June 12, 2012 from 5:15 p.m. – 6:15 p.m.
Call to Order – Lou Tartaglia, MD,
5:15 p.m.
General Business
5:15-5:20 p.m.
• Introduction of 2011-2012 Steering Committee
• Call for Volunteers: 2012-2013 Steering Committee
• Update of Section Activities
Narcolepsy Year-In-Review
5:20-5:35 p.m.
• Palaia V; Poli F; Pizza F; Antelmi E; Franceschini C;
Moghadam KK; Provini F; Pagotto U; Montagna P;
Schenck CH; Mignot E; Plazzi G. Narcolepsy with cata-
plexy associated with nocturnal compulsive behaviors: a
case-control study. SLEEP 2011;34(10):1365-1371.
Section Investigator Award Presentation
5:35-6:05 p.m.
• Samuel Dzodzomenyo, MD – Dayton Children’s Hospital
Urine Toxicology Screen in MSLT: The Correlation of
Positive Tetrahydrocannabinol, Drug negative Patients and
Other Business
6:05-6:15 p.m.
6:15 p.m.
Membership Sections Reception
6:15-7:15 p.m.
Steering Committee
Eve R. Rogers, MD, FAASM,
is finishing her third and
final year as Chair of the Narcolepsy
Section. Dr. Rogers received her
medical degree from the University of
TX at Houston, and then completed a
neurology residency at the Mayo Clin-
ic in Rochester, MN, and a fellowship
in sleep medicine at the Cleveland
Clinic. She is a board-certified neu-
rologist and sleep medicine specialist,
and she has been in private practice in
Minnesota for the last decade. While
in MN, she helped to build the North
Memorial Sleep Health Center and
served as its medical director. Later,
she was medical director of Sound
Sleep Center and then Fairmont
Medical Center Sleep Center. Her spe-
cial interest is in narcolepsy and other
hypersomnias of central origin. In
March 2006, she helped to start a local
narcolepsy patient support group in
Minneapolis, known as the Midwest
Organization of Narcolepsy Support
(“MOONS”). Currently, Dr. Rogers
has placed her clinical practice on
hold and is working full time for the
American Academy of Sleep Medicine
as an accreditation site visitor. She
now lives in Columbus, OH, where
she enjoys being closer to several fam-
ily members and staying warm!
Dr. Louis A. Tartaglia, MD, DABSM,
received his MD from the
University of Bologna in Italy in
1972. He completed a residency in
Psychiatry at Downstate Medical
Center/Kings County Hospital in
1976. He had practiced Psychiatry
and Addiction Medicine for a number
of years. He left practice and was
involved professional speaking and
self help. He authored four books and
then returned to medicine and did a
Eve R. Rogers, MD
Stephen LoVerme, MD
Louis A. Tartaglia, MD